Immigration Alert: Supreme Court Upholds President’s Travel Ban

On June 26, 2018, the Supreme Court upheld the Trump Administration’s ban restricting nonimmigrant and immigrant entry for certain foreign nationals who are citizens or nationals of seven countries: Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Iran and Somalia. The decision lifts the temporary injunctions issued by the lower courts, and remands the cases for hearing on the merits subject to the Supreme Court’s interpretation of the Constitution and immigration laws. Key elements of the majority’s decision include the following:

For additional information on the Supreme Court decision, the Presidential Proclamation and designated countries, please see links below:

Full text of Supreme Court ruling:

Department of State Summary by country — Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Iran, and Somalia (*Last updated April 2018; additional guidance may be published after June 26, 2018)

Presidential Proclamation Enhancing Vetting Capabilities and Processes for Detecting Attempted Entry Into the United States by Terrorists or Other Public-Safety Threats

Please consult with immigration counsel for legal advice. Individuals concerned about the impact of travel restrictions should consult with an attorney before making plans to travel to or depart from the United States or attempting to enter/apply for a visa to enter the U.S.
Gibney will continue to monitor events and how these new guidelines will be implemented at the border and at Consulates abroad. For additional information, please visit Gibney’s Immigration Advisory and FAQs.

If you have any questions regarding this alert, please contact your designated Gibney representative, or email

The general information provided herein is not intended to serve as a source of legal advice for any purpose. Please contact your designated Gibney representative or immigration counsel for specific legal advice.