Immigration Alert: Trump Administration Announces New Travel Restrictions

The Trump Administration issued a Proclamation on September 24th, 2017 announcing various restrictions on nonimmigrant and immigrant entry for certain foreign nationals who are citizens or nationals of eight countries: North Korea, Venezuela, Chad, Syria, Iran, Somalia, Libya, and Yemen.
The Administration previously issued travel restrictions through Executive Orders in January and March for certain nationals of six Muslim-majority countries, which have been challenged in Federal Court. The new Proclamation removes Sudan from the list of previously targeted counties, and imposes new travel limits for nationals of North Korea, Venezuela, and Chad, which take effect at different times. The new restrictions took effect at 3:30 p.m. EDT on September 24th for foreign nationals who were subject to the last travel ban and lack a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the U.S. However, the travel restrictions will go into effect at 12:01 a.m. EDT on October 18th for everyone else subject to the proclamation, including nationals of Chad, North Korea, and Venezuela, and nationals of Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia who do have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship. It has also been confirmed that existing visas remain valid and that limited exceptions/waivers will be available on a case-by-case basis.

For more information on country specific restrictions, visit the Bureau of Consular Affairs site and the Department of Homeland Security FAQs.

Please consult with immigration counsel for legal advice.

Gibney will continue to monitor events and how these new guidelines will be implemented at the border and at Consulates abroad. For additional information, please visit Gibney’s Immigration Advisory and FAQs. If you have any questions regarding this alert, please contact your designated Gibney representative, or email